Chamber of Secrets

Chamber of Secrets (http://www.cosforums.com/index.php)
-   Magical Masterpieces (http://www.cosforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=34)
-   -   General Graphics Questions (http://www.cosforums.com/showthread.php?t=119286)

Vita January 31st, 2009 7:14 pm

General Graphics Questions
 
Hello!

Post your general graphic making questions here! Please be sure to include the program and version you are using and try to be as specific as possible when asking. Everyone is welcome and encouraged to answer questions that are asked. I will do my best to catalog answered and frequently asked questions.

Ask away!

Beatifically February 1st, 2009 7:25 am

Re: General Graphics Questions
 
When you animate, how do you apply something that affects all the frames? Like if I want to use a clip from a movie/tv show/etc. and I want to make every frame a certain coloring, how do I do that?

kala_way February 1st, 2009 8:12 am

Re: General Graphics Questions
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Beatifically (Post 5228109)
When you animate, how do you apply something that affects all the frames? Like if I want to use a clip from a movie/tv show/etc. and I want to make every frame a certain coloring, how do I do that?

Put the coloring layers above all the image layers.
Select all the frames (bottom left) and make sure the coloring layers are visible for all frames.

http://i112.photobucket.com/albums/n...oloringall.png

(this is assuming you're using a program that uses layers like this)

Hysteria February 1st, 2009 2:09 pm

Re: General Graphics Questions
 
Is it possible to use Photoshop to make an animated avatar (for example) from a tv/movie clip without doing it frame for frame? Can you capture part of the actual clip and insert it to Photoshop or do you need a more sophisticated animation program?

boushh February 1st, 2009 3:05 pm

Re: General Graphics Questions
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Hysteria (Post 5228160)
Is it possible to use Photoshop to make an animated avatar (for example) from a tv/movie clip without doing it frame for frame? Can you capture part of the actual clip and insert it to Photoshop or do you need a more sophisticated animation program?

One way to do it is if you have a quicktime file you can import it into Image Ready and then Jump to Photoshop. It will open with all of the frames as different layers. Then you can jump back and forth between the programs.

Hysteria February 1st, 2009 3:56 pm

Re: General Graphics Questions
 
If I'm using Photoshop CS3 (which doesn't come with Image Ready. The animation tool is inbuilt) can I import the quicktime straight to Photoshop? It doesn't seem to be working.

kala_way February 1st, 2009 4:09 pm

Re: General Graphics Questions
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Hysteria (Post 5228189)
If I'm using Photoshop CS3 (which doesn't come with Image Ready. The animation tool is inbuilt) can I import the quicktime straight to Photoshop? It doesn't seem to be working.

No, as far as I know you can't animate using just Photoshop because it has no capability to create frames or set timing. I've never looked for it, but I'm sure there are free programs out there that do similar things to Image Ready (like Gimp is to Photoshop).

Hysteria February 1st, 2009 4:10 pm

Re: General Graphics Questions
 
Ok thanks I might look into that :)

Rell February 1st, 2009 4:23 pm

Re: General Graphics Questions
 
Hysteria, GIMP has its own animation feature :) It's very good.

----------
And I have a question - I just downloaded a bunch of fonts, and I forgot how to import them into photoshop! (I'm using elements if that makes a difference).

Quote:

Originally Posted by Beatifically (Post 5228109)
When you animate, how do you apply something that affects all the frames? Like if I want to use a clip from a movie/tv show/etc. and I want to make every frame a certain coloring, how do I do that?

In photoshop elements, I actually copied the color layer (or levels or whatever) over each frame and merged them. I think imageready must have an easier way to do that, but I have no idea if elements does. If anyone is familiar with animating in elements, I'd love to hear of an easier way!

boushh February 1st, 2009 9:02 pm

Re: General Graphics Questions
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Hysteria (Post 5228189)
If I'm using Photoshop CS3 (which doesn't come with Image Ready. The animation tool is inbuilt) can I import the quicktime straight to Photoshop? It doesn't seem to be working.

Darn. Importing into Image Ready is handy when one can do it. I've used it like 1% of the time though because I rarely use quicktimes.

Rell, I didn't realize GIMP has an animation feature. Good to know. :)

Vita February 1st, 2009 9:53 pm

Re: General Graphics Questions
 
Rell what version of Microsoft do you have? Vista? Because for Vista what you do is create an icon on your desktop of the font and then right click and select install, it's really easy. Otherwise you have to again, create an icon on the desktop then click and drag it into your Font file found in your programs.

Rell February 1st, 2009 10:07 pm

Re: General Graphics Questions
 
Thanks vita!

Klio February 1st, 2009 10:09 pm

Re: General Graphics Questions
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rell (Post 5228207)
And I have a question - I just downloaded a bunch of fonts, and I forgot how to import them into photoshop! (I'm using elements if that makes a difference).

I have been using PS both in XP and Vista. In both programmes, download the font to some subfolder, then go to control panel > fonts and choose install font. That allows you to browse for the fonts, you can select them all in one go.

After that, all those fonts will be available in most of the Windows applications you are using - as well as in Photoshop.

I am actually really pleased that I have them all in Word as well. About two months ago I collected some 150 fonts online and downloaded them all. I made a template in word (alphabet in caps and small letters, numbers, various signs, sample sentence), and then made a table with all the fonts displayed, and then ordered by different theme ('gothic', typewriter' 'handwriting', etc.). When I want to pick a font for Photoshop I go the table first and scroll through it. Usually I know which rough tyle I want, butthis way I have an easy way of indentifying the font that looks best for the job.

This has been extremely useful! :)

Voldemorts8thHorcrux February 1st, 2009 10:22 pm

Re: General Graphics Questions
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by boushh (Post 5228172)
One way to do it is if you have a quicktime file you can import it into Image Ready and then Jump to Photoshop. It will open with all of the frames as different layers. Then you can jump back and forth between the programs.

WHAT?!?!?! that's really really annoying for me because it turns out i've been wasting time doing print screening videos for animations :rotfl:. Well, at least now I know

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rell (Post 5228207)
Hysteria, GIMP has its own animation feature :) It's very good.

----------
And I have a question - I just downloaded a bunch of fonts, and I forgot how to import them into photoshop! (I'm using elements if that makes a difference).

In photoshop elements, I actually copied the color layer (or levels or whatever) over each frame and merged them. I think imageready must have an easier way to do that, but I have no idea if elements does. If anyone is familiar with animating in elements, I'd love to hear of an easier way!

hmm...i've never heard of the install font thing Klio is talking about, but the way I do it is I go to my computer and you go to your Hard Disk Drive, which for me is called Local Disk, and when you go in you'll see a few subfolders, and you can go into the folder that says Windows or WINDOWS and there will be more subfolders, including one named Font. Then you can drag and drop or copy paste font files into there. :)

i'm going to see whether or not Ihave the install font thing :hmm:

ETA: I just checked, i do'nt have install font, it's just a folder, similar to the one i described on My Computer

Vita February 1st, 2009 10:55 pm

Re: General Graphics Questions
 
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v4...ee/install.png

This is what I mean for the Install feature with a desktop icon :D

Voldemorts8thHorcrux February 1st, 2009 11:01 pm

Re: General Graphics Questions
 
oh ok, but I don't think it's on my computer, it's an XP

biara February 1st, 2009 11:03 pm

Re: General Graphics Questions
 
font managers

there are some font manager programs that help a lot in dealing with a great number of fonts. i downloaded some of them, all freeware. the ones i use the most are FastFontPreview, FontXplorer and Free&EasyFontViewer. but i'm sure there are new and better stuff out there.

with these programs you can type a sample of text and see it in every font available in your computer. which makes it much easier to choose the 'perfect' font (like there is such thing as the perfect font! :rolleyes: ). you can also install and uninstall fonts (the instalation is the act of copying the file to the Windows Fonts folder, like V8 does manually ;) ).

some of those font managers allow you to organize the fonts in categories, like Klio did on Word. and some even let you print font catalogues! there was a time when i was really into this and i researched a lot of font managers, but i never found one that did it all. :(

Vita February 1st, 2009 11:07 pm

Re: General Graphics Questions
 
Ooh that's handy B! Thank's for sharing :D

boushh February 1st, 2009 11:09 pm

Re: General Graphics Questions
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Voldemorts8thHorcrux (Post 5228361)
WHAT?!?!?! that's really really annoying for me because it turns out i've been wasting time doing print screening videos for animations :rotfl:. Well, at least now I know

Don't feel bad. I do that most of the time too. :) Alt, Print Screen. :) I rarely have quicktimes to use. :) I can make them now but it involves an extra step so I may be using the Image Ready importing in the future if it isn't too much of a pain.

As for installing fonts... I've been doing them the same way in Vista or XP... I just download them into a folder on the desktop or wherever is convenient. Then I go to control panel and find the "Fonts" folder and open it. Then I just drag and drop or cut and paste the fonts into the "Fonts" folder. It's very easy. Then those fonts should be available in all (or at least stuff like Photoshop and Word) your programs.

Edit: biara, those programs look handy. Thanks!

Voldemorts8thHorcrux February 1st, 2009 11:20 pm

Re: General Graphics Questions
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by boushh (Post 5228392)
Don't feel bad. I do that most of the time too. :) Alt, Print Screen. :) I rarely have quicktimes to use. :) I can make them now but it involves an extra step so I may be using the Image Ready importing in the future if it isn't too much of a pain.

As for installing fonts... I've been doing them the same way in Vista or XP... I just download them into a folder on the desktop or wherever is convenient. Then I go to control panel and find the "Fonts" folder and open it. Then I just drag and drop or cut and paste the fonts into the "Fonts" folder. It's very easy. Then those fonts should be available in all (or at least stuff like Photoshop and Word) your programs.

Edit: biara, those programs look handy. Thanks!

http://www.any-video-converter.com/p...or_video_free/ This site is wonderful, you can use it to download youtube videos or upload any movies you have and convert them. I just looked and i'm not sure if it converts quicktime files :hmm: but either way, downloading a youtube vid to wma and using windows movie maker to slow down the clips helps a LOT too


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:55 am.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Original content is Copyright MMII - MMVIII, CoSForums.com. All Rights Reserved.
Other content (posts, images, etc) is Copyright its respective owners.