Login  

Go Back   Chamber of Secrets > Harry Potter > The Cloak > The Pensieve

Voldemort and Oedipus

Old July 25th, 2007, 5:55 am
First Year

Voldemort and Oedipus

For some reason, I was reading Oediupus Rex the other day, and I started to make connections between Voldemort and Oedipus. As a writer, I'm sure that JK has read Oedipus, so I'm not sure if she did any of this intentionally. Maybe I'm just way off base, I have no idea.
  • Oedipus kills his father. Obviously Voldemort does this, and instead kills his father's entire family. Oedipus, however, didn't know that the man he killed was his father, while Voldemort set out to kill him.
  • Voldemort, while he does kills Morfin, indulges himself in his mother's family. He, like Snape, tries to be a Pureblood, and take from his Slytherin heritage. Oedipus, of course, marries and subsequently sleeps with his mother.
  • Oedipus is the victim of fate. Now, I realize that JK took the Prophecy idea from her favorite William play, Hamlet, but Voldemort also faces the same fate hardships that Hamlet does. If Voldemort had never heard the prophecy, he never would have gone after Harry, and thus never would have lead to his demise in Godric's Hallow. I realize that this had nothing to do with him killing his father and the Slytherin family, but I think it's important for him to be a victim of fate just like Oediupus.
  • Now, Oedipus rips out his eyes when he finds out that he slept with his mother and killed his father, finding out his he a victim of fate. Obviously, Voldemort doesn't care that he killed his father, but, and I can't connect it just yet, there is plenty in the books to do with Voldemort's eyes in Harry's soul, his blindness towards types of magic, and his "slit" eyes.

I realize this could be completely stupid and not make any sense, but I thought it was something that I had been thinking of sharing.

Sponsored Links
Old July 26th, 2007, 7:02 pm
First Year

Re: Voldemort and Oedipus