Login  

Go Back   Chamber of Secrets > Forum Archives > Harry Potter Archives > Divination Studies

The Key to Harry's scar and the Symbol on the Spine of Book Seven

Old May 15th, 2007, 12:31 am
First Year

The Key to Harry's scar and the Symbol on the Spine of Book Seven

This post may be met with some dismay and open animosity. However, it has been a theory of mine since I started reading the first book (which I admit wasn’t until I was a freshman in college and that proves significant) and has been reinforced by almost every Harry Potter book since then (and the second Harry Potter movie but I will leave you folks to figure that out). Also, to my surprise, it has been something that no one has caught on to in all of this time despite the numerous hints that have been in the books. Or if they have, they have kept it quiet like I have done.

This theory may very well answer questions in regards to Harry’s eye color (as well as lily’s) their implied power, Harry’s scar, the symbol on the spine of Book 7 as well as prove that Dumbledore may be wrong about “power which the Dark Lord knows not.”

*Disclaimer: This is a theory. Though the information contained herein will be presented as fact. Also, researching the theory will take more legwork than a long internet search. It will require detailed knowledge of the subject matter and its corresponding theories. You will have to look at other sources regarding this topic. Also, I have never had an interest in the topic matters discussed. My knowledge is based on 4 years of college courses on the study of ancient writing, its origin and uses.

The shape of Harry’s scar is what tipped me off. It is more than a scar and more than a connection between Voldemort and Harry. It is an ancient rune.

However, to truly understand the symbol and its implications, you must first understand the lore behind it which is something I do not have the time to explain in great detail. I will briefly discuss it here, though.