Login  

Go Back   Chamber of Secrets > Diagon Alley > The Language Lab

Gaeilge

Old December 19th, 2007, 8:12 pm
Fifth Year

Gaeilge

Ok. so... ceapaim go bhfiul áis iontach againn anseo ar CoS chun teangacha a úsáid gan naire go bhfuil muid ag deanamh botún. Táim ag stadair an gaeilge in ÓE Gaillimh ach nílim líofa. Tá a fhios agam go bhfuil daoine anseo le gaeilge agus well... ba mhaith liom caint libhse!

Ok. So... I think we have a great facility here on CoS to use languages without embarrasment about making mistakes. I'm studying Irish in NUI Galway but I'm not fluent. I know there are Irish speakers here and well... I want to have a chat.

If there is anyone else who is interested I don't mind teaching simple words and phrases and giving the pronounciation with them like Luka13 is doing for Cherokee. If not then me and my mad language will just fade into the darkness and not upset any of your nice languages with our oddness.

Old December 19th, 2007, 8:16 pm
Third Year

Re: Gaeilge

I've been trying to learn as well. I've got a simple phrase book, but any suggestions for a phonetic guide or other tools would be very much appreciated!

GOFLAMESGO!!!
Old December 19th, 2007, 8:51 pm
Fifth Year

Tá a fhios agam go bhfuil sé deacair focail gaeilge a fuamniú. Úsáidimid an aibítur cheanna leis an bearla ach labhraímid an-difriúil.

Yeah trying to pronouce Irish words can be difficult because even though we use the same letters as English we pronounce them completely differently or at least we put letters together in ways that confuse English speakers.

www.angaelmagazine.com seems to have some stuff but the resources I can find online seem to be people from the US talking so I'll try to help.
S - before E or I sounds like Sh [Siopa (shop) = shup-ah]
S - before A, O, U sounds ss [Saor (free) = Sare rhyming with dare]
C - is hard [Crua (hard) = Krew'ah]
G - is hard [Glas (green) = 'Gloss']
CH - K like Bach [Éireannach (Irish person) = Air'in-uck]