Login  

Go Back   Chamber of Secrets > Diagon Alley > The Language Lab

Icelandic

Old February 6th, 2008, 12:48 pm
Assistant to Professor Snape

Icelandic

Gan daginn! g er sk en g er a lra slensku. Any Icelanders out there or other people learning Icelandic?

Old February 10th, 2008, 6:24 am
First Year

Re: Icelandic

I sadly don't know very much, but I would LOVE to learn it. Anyone know of any good sources for learning it?

Old February 11th, 2008, 9:11 am

Try out the self-learning course "Colloquial Icelandic" by Daisy L. Neijmann. It is very good, but you have to keep at it on a regular basis. I have been using it for the past four months, half an hour everyday. Otherwise, there is one single evening classs in London and I am taking that one now.

Old February 12th, 2008, 12:49 am
First Year

Thanks for the recommendation! I will definitely check that out...and perhaps return in a few months to practice with you.

Old February 12th, 2008, 8:40 am

Gjru svo vel! (Go ahead). You might also want to check out www.ifelag.co.uk (if you ever come to the UK) for activities organised by the Icelandic community here and www.icelandic.hi.is for a free online course in Icelandic. Tell me what you think! I have also managed to find myself some Icelandic e-mail pals and I try to write as much in Icelandic as I can.

Old February 12th, 2008, 11:04 am
First Year

For the moment, I haven't been able to find the book you mentioned, but I shall keep looking. Thanks for the other information too! I've occasionally check out the free Icelandic course when I can.

...for now...I take my leave!

Old February 12th, 2008, 11:22 am

Allt lagi (OK). You can get the book from www.amazon.co.uk, just make sure to get the tapes and CDs as well. You can sometimes find this book on ebay as well, but maybe not from the USA, but from Europe.

Gangi r vel! (Good luck!)

Old February 12th, 2008, 3:06 pm
The Dark Lord's Faithful Servant

Quote:
Originally Posted by Titania View Post