Login  

Go Back   Chamber of Secrets > Harry Potter > Flourish and Blotts

You Are Cordially Invited...

Old August 8th, 2007, 3:00 am
The Godfather

You Are Cordially Invited...

This is my first attempt at fanfiction, of any type of fiction of any kind. To that end, please forgive my sparse dialogue that barely exceeds "See Spot run." I am working on that. The attached is the first three chapters of my vision of Harry and Ginny's wedding day, and the events that led up to it. Any feedback would be very much appreciated.

Chapter 1 – Today’s the Day

The rays from the breaking dawn began to filter through the drapes into his room. Groggy from the previous evening’s festivities, Harry Potter wearily opened an eye to glimpse the clock on the nightstand. Unaccustomed to the payment rendered on the morning subsequent to a night of drunken revelry, he sat upright, too rapidly, of course and felt a whirl of disorientation sweep over him. Slowly regaining his equilibrium, Harry moved his legs to the edge of the bed, his movement, much more deliberate, and placed his feet on the rustic hardwood floors of his room.

With a bit of trepidation, Harry surveyed his surroundings, taking in the room, his room, in his house, the house that he had inherited from Sirius Black, seven years ago. For a moment, he felt a tinge of regret for Sirius’ absence, for his parents’ absence, for the absence of many of those close to him. As the years had passed with the demise of Tom Riddle, Harry had been able to cope with the cost that the victory had demanded. But today, he allowed himself to bring forward the feelings of sadness, loss and guilt, because today, especially today, was a day that he had wished he could share with everyone that had any meaning to him.