Login  

Go Back   Chamber of Secrets > Harry Potter > Flourish and Blotts

A new purpose- an 'epilogue'

Old October 20th, 2006, 5:53 am
Third Year

A new purpose- an 'epilogue'

This is my first attempt at fanfic, and it's very short. It's set about a year or so after Voldemort's downfall- kind of an epilogue. Note the use of 'scar' as the final word! Hope you like it, please leave some feedback!

Disclaimer: these characters belong to the very talented J K Rowling, not me.

A New Purpose

After eleven years of living with the Dursleys, Harry Potter was used to feeling awkward and out of place. At that moment, however, he was wishing more than he ever had that he was somewhere else. The wall separating him from the hospital room was thick, but not thick enough that he couldn't hear what was going on inside.

"AAAAAAAaah...."

Hermione's screams met his unwilling ears. He heard a strangled noise from Ron- like a dying cat. Then a loud thump.

"RONALD WEASLEY! Get up right now. RIGHT NOW. I need you here, you useless ginger lump! AAAAAAAAAAaaah! I'll kill you, I swear I will! How dare you faint on me!"

Harry urged Ron to get up with all the power of his mind. He must have managed, for the next thing he heard was a weak muttering. This was easier to block out than Hermione's screams, but he heard a bit.

"...can't....wand..."

"I DON'T NEED A BLOODY WAND! I'll do it with my bare hands!"
That was it. No matter what they had said, he had to get out of there.

A few hours later, Harry was sitting in the waiting room downstairs with Ginny and Molly when Ron entered. He was extremely pale and seemed to be having trouble speaking. Ginny went over and hugged him.

"Finished, is she? Let’s go see them, then."
They each took one of Ron's arms and held him up as he was obviously in imminent danger of collapsing.

"Hi." Hermione looked up as they entered the room. Harry glanced at her briefly, then dropped his gaze to the bundle in her arms.